Updated by
Fr. Mathew Bulala, MA

Religious Historical background

Tanzania has 32 dioceses. Geita Diocese is a Catholic Diocese that helps its people to grow spiritually, physically, and mentally. It was inaugurated on March 10th 1985. The Diocese was cut off from Archdiocese of Mwanza. The Archdiocese of Mwanza was too large to provide for pastoral service across Lake Victoria. It was not easier to provide spiritual services in both places. The Diocese of Geita was created to solve this problem.

The first Bishop of Geita diocese was Rt. Rev. Aloysius Balina who is now the Bishop of the Diocese of Shinyanga. Bishop Balina was followed by Rt. Rev. Bishop Damian Dallu was consecrated and installed as a Bishop of Geita Diocese on July 2000.

Diocese of Geita, combines two administrative districts, namely  Geita and Sengerema; and it is under the Mwanza Region. At present the diocese has 12 parishes, 30 diocesan priests and 6 religious communities.